Entertainment Galore

**Note – Please be patient with me as I figure out what the heck I’m doing with the fonts and switching everything around.  Does anyone know how to make the font LARGER??  It’s so tiny on my screen.  I am starting to like this new banner on the top.  I took that photo around Easter when some plant outside my house was looking lovely.  I have no idea what the plant or any of the plants at my house are called (for the most part).  All I know is that we don’t have ferns.**

What is with Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis doing Black Swan and then going into some fluff romantic comedy about sleeping with your best friend?  Odd timing on their parts, in my opinion.  I usually don’t end up going to see these types of movies in the theaters because if I’m going to go to the theater, I’m going to see something that I (hopefully) won’t regret paying the money for.  I mean, now that we have Netflix, I almost don’t see a need to go to the theaters as often.  Plus, whenever we go, I always get a (not small) popcorn and chow down (usually by myself).  Movie theater popcorn is my weakness.  It is divine in every way.  The heat, the butter, the salt, the everything.  Oh dear heavens, is it becoming obvious that I ate a Lean Cuisine for dinner?  I’m trying to watch what I eat and control my portions.  This time last year I was training for a half-marathon.  I promptly gave that up about mid-March as I completely burned myself out by running on the treadmill too much.  One day I will run a half marathon.  One day.

I don’t know why but I’m a sucker for reality television.  Yes, I know that there’s really nothing “real” about the entire thing, but still…it fascinates me.  I think I’m even more pulled in because I end up thinking about what sorts of people watch these types of shows.  Then, as my butt begins to create indentations in the couch, I realize that I AM the type of person who watches this kind of crap.  My mother is ashamed.  I try to hush her by reminding her that I have a Masters Degree, which means it’s totally ok that I’m watching trash tv.  Of course, I blame J for doing this to me.  As he studied for a test to help him further his career, he began to need mindless television so that he could completely relax.  Always up for a good time, I joined him, even though I was hesitant at first.  Slowly, I allowed him to introduce me to The Hills and then once that finished we ventured over to Jersey Shore. Don’t hate me.  Yes, we are some of the whatever-million people who watch this crap.  These people live a life I cannot even imagine.  What is it like to be a completely unproductive member of society?  Snooki’s comment of tonight’s DVR’d episode – “I’m addicted to bronzer, beer, and boys.”  Those are her big issues in life!  And yet, here I am, stressing on the eve of a snow-late-start-day, wondering how in the world I’m going to teach everything I need to before May 11 (which is when my sweet students take the AP Exam).  Other than Snooks and I taking opposite routes in life, I still cannot help but be floored that they will make more money than I will ever see.  Ever.

Leave a Reply

