Archive | February 13, 2011

Coffee is NOT working

Every morning I wake up and slowly sip a cup of coffee as I ease my way into first block, and ultimately into the day.  I just started this coffee love after Christmas, which is when Joel bought me a Keurig.  I don’t drink a pot of coffee, mainly because I don’t have the time to drink a pot of coffee, but wow, I love a nice cup of coffee.  Lately though, the coffee ain’t working.  At 2:00 I’m ready to snuggle up with a blanket on the tile floor and sleep my way through my planning period.  I don’t know what my deal is.  Last semester I drank a Diet Mountain Dew every morning beginning in break and bleeding over into second block.  It was the perfect little pep to my morning and, really, it was the only way I got through the day.  If caffeine was available for intravenous use, I’d do it.  In a heartbeat.  Sure carrying the IV around might look ridiculous but if it meant I had enough energy in the day, it’d be worth it.

My point in all of this is that I need a coffee education.  I don’t know the difference between roasts and boldness, what I should be drinking, and does it all even matter since I put 2 sweet-n-lows and creamer in my coffee anyway?  I have a Keurig so I try to buy those little K-cups.  What should I be looking for?   It’s taken YEARS for me to start drinking coffee so now I need a lesson.

P.S. – after teaching my second block class for over 6 months now, they also now choose Diet Mountain Dew as their drink of choice at break (which yes, I allow them to bring in my class as long as it’s not distracting) AND they eat pretzels with peanut butter.  Who says a teacher’s influence stops before the stomach??

P.P.S – What, you haven’t eaten pretzels with peanut butter – specifically honey peanut butter?  Go out and buy some.  NOW.

My Morning Lover

Oh how I need you in the morning