e-reader = welcome to 2011

So I took some time off blogging because I was on Spring Break.  I didn’t want to get near a computer or anything that could possibly lead me to work.  I’m a little sad that I didn’t blog more, because it is truly therapeutic.  In fact, I’ll probably be on here a lot this upcoming week.

I spent last week deciding that I definitely want an e-reader.  I played with a friend’s Kindle and I loved it.  I was shocked at how I loved merely pushing a button and flipping a page or downloading a new book.  Joel and I have talked about and discussed e-readers for awhile now.  We are both the type of people who slowly come to decisions and then methodically research and find the best device for the most reasonable price.  I spent last Wednesday asking a few friends about their preference between the Nook and Kindle.  While I could see benefits of both, I was leaning heavily towards the Kindle due to it’s lightweight feel and abundance of books.

Joel came home that night late from work and told me that I needed to go get my Bible out of the car.  He slammed on the brakes and it went flying into the floor.  He forgot about it until now and wanted me to go check on it and make sure that it didn’t get too banged up.  I got annoyed at this because I really try to take care of my books, especially my huge Bible.  So I walk out to the car and grab it from the backseat, only to notice that it’s in perfect condition.  As I lift the Bible, I notice there is a white box underneath it with an image of the Nook on it.  It took my brain a few moments to realize there was actually a Nook inside!

Surprise!!

I ran back inside, silently forgiving myself for cursing him in my head, and shockingly asked him what all of this was about.  He explained that he researched it for awhile and decided the Nook was the most versatile reader.  He also found it online for half off (only $70!!) and it helped to seal the deal for him.  I spent the next few days downloading and buying books (oh HEAVENS this is bad for my credit card).  I also figured out how to borrow books from the library to read on my Nook. The library borrowing feature was one of the main reasons I couldn’t stop considering the Nook as a contender for an e-reader.

So while on spring break, I decided to read whatever my heart desired.

I read:

I finally finished this book.  It wasn’t that it was a good book or well written but I just haven’t had the time to really want to absorb what I’m reading.  At night, sometimes I find it easier to read to unwind, instead of reading for pure pleasure.  If I had read this book during the day (which I did over Spring Break), then I would have loved it more.  The amazing thing about this book is that it is all true.  These children have such a dysfunctional upbringing, but it works – or at least it worked for them – and now most of the kids are successful members of society.  Fascinating over all though.

What a fun little beach read…if only I had been at the beach.  This was a light read with characters I could relate to, believe, and root for.  The novel followed a group of women who all become friends while pregnant with their first children.  Weiner tells of the womens’ ups and downs through humor and poise.  I would like to seek out more of her works since the only other novel of Weiner’s I’ve read is “In Her Shoes.”  That novel was pretty good but the movie was awful.

One of my students let me borrow Sarah Dessen’s “Lock and Key” over spring break.  She adores Dessen, and never having read one of her books, I told her to bring me her favorite novel.   She brought me this and I really enjoyed it.  It took me some time to want to continue reading  because I felt like some parts were drug out.  However, Dessen has a great voice for teenage girls and I can see why the girls love her.   I probably won’t be reading too many of her books because I have been told by my trusted librarian friend that  Dessen’s books tend to be a bit repetitive.  But if I need a book, Dessen always has a copy on the library site of one of her many novels. One of my favorite parts about reading this book was that I was able to read it on the Nook at Barnes and Noble for free after I graded papers. It was a little treat for myself for doing work.  That said, I think I might pick a shorter one next time.

I borrowed this from the public library to read on my Nook and, so far, I think it’s pretty interesting.  Wes Moore is the name belonging to two separate men who lead two completely separate lives.  It proves that just the simplest of changes can lead one man to become a John Hopkins scholar while the other survives the streets as a drug dealer.  This book came recommended from an AP teacher who is always looking for new nonfiction to add to the list of books for AP Language students.  I’m almost halfway through and I’m intrigued by the relationship formed between two men who had only their names and hometowns in common.

After reading all week, I must admit I am a Nook convert.  It is SO wonderful and I am LOVING the library feature.  Of course, I believe I would be happy with any e-reader, I am ecstatic to have the Nook.

At the end of last week, I shared my excitement with my father (who usually has a wonderful sense of humor) and he commented on how wonderful he thought e-readers were and wanted to know all the details.  As I’m telling him about getting a Nook, he starts to tell me that he always thought Barnes and Noble gave their product the worst name available.  Dumbfounded, I asked him what he meant by that.  He said, “Oh you know…I’m sure someone being stupid hasn’t compared it to ‘nookie’  – ‘I want some nookie’ – or something along those lines.”

And then I wanted to throw up.

Leave a Reply

