Social Butterfly

I will make friends with a wall.  It’s funny because I take this trait after my father, who will talk to everyone and anyone about any/everything.  My mother, on the other hand, is content at being by herself and not saying a lot.  Which I guess this is a good thing, considering she married my father and she probably wouldn’t get a word in otherwise.

My over-socialization has been at the root of a lot of the issues Joel’s sister and I had for the past few years.  It was only recently when she and the rest of the family came for Easter, that I realized she is a loner.  THAT’S why she hasn’t reached out to being a friend, or why she doesn’t initiate conversations/relationships.  Joel’s youngest sister is the same way.  She’s not extremely social, except around people she is VERY close to.  Joel and his 3 brothers are quite the opposite.  Not that they are all overly social and outgoing, but they can go up to strangers and initiate conversations or maintain relationships with people who aren’t necessarily in the same town.

I threw a baby luncheon this past weekend and I struggled, once again, while dealing with a person who is a loner.  I was FRUSTRATED every time I called and the call went to voicemail (more than 3x just a few days before the luncheon) and I resisted the urge to throw it all to the wind.  I should also mention that I was going to be missing my father’s favorite uncle’s funeral because the luncheon was two hours later in a city 3.5 hours away.  There was no way to be in two places at once.  SO, I decided to throw my efforts into the luncheon.  It was an interesting gig throwing a luncheon for someone who is a loner…almost awkward at times when I decided to thank everyone for coming and say the kinds words that the honoree should be speaking.

But this is me adapting to people who are not socially well-rounded.  AND THIS IS HARD FOR ME BECAUSE I STRUGGLE DEALING WITH PEOPLE WHO ARE AWKWARD AND CANNOT CARRY ON CONVERSATIONS AND YET I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THEM ALL THE TIME.

People who are socially awkward – rock on.  Just please make some effort when you have to encounter those of us who instantly want to be great friends with everyone…including you.

Leave a Reply

