Plus one equals 5

So while this isn’t “public” news yet, aka it’s not on Facebook yet (and therefore, according to my sister-in-law, isn’t “public” news), there is going to be an addition to our family.  For once, it doesn’t involve another animal.  As shocking as it sometimes is to me, Joel and I are going to have a baby coming this way next April.  There have been so many emotions and thoughts that frequently flood my thoughts.  Next spring I’ll be responsible for a little baby – a LIFE.  I sure hope all the other mothers out there have gone through the same barrage of emotions: shock, excitement, awe, worry, anxiety, cloud nine, etc.  Joel has had pretty much one emotion: happiness.  When I decided to tell him, I bought him a little gift with a yellow baby outfit (gender neutral of course) inside.  He was ecstatic.

First verbal thoughts, “Do you know if it’s a boy or a girl??” [pause] “Oh…I guess it’s too early.”  The smile never left his face.

It’s been kind of fun not telling people for a while.  It’s like I have this great little secret (which can quickly be exposed if you work with me and start noticing how tight all of my tops are getting).  I’m still on the fence about wanting to know the gender.  For years, I’ve sworn I would not find out.  Joel, on the other hand, is dying to know the sex.  And now that it’s come to actually dealing with this issue?  I’m so SO tempted to just find out and get everything either blue or pink.  Besides, SO many clothes are either pink or blue.  It’s almost impossible to find true gender neutral clothing in a color other than white and yellow.

Joel’s trying to convince me by using an analogy that…doesn’t quite click with me.

Would you rather have a gift on Christmas or in July?

Well, it’s the fall, so I’d rather have a gift at Christmas.  But my birthday is before Christmas, so you could give me a gift then if you wanted…

No, you’re missing the point.  Do you want a gift on Christmas or in July?

I’d like a gift right now.

What makes a gift more special – getting it on Christmas or in July.

It depends on what time of year it is.  Right now I’d say Christmas, but if it was June then I’d answer July.

[sigh] You aren’t getting this.

Nope, didn’t think so.

Christmas is already its own special day – kinda like the birth of a kid.  Getting a gift before Christmas is even more fun – kinda like finding out the sex before it’s born.

Why didn’t you just say that in the first place?

Communication at its finest right there.

Plus, naming a kid?  Holy cow.  Talk about a big deal.  It is so hard being a teacher and trying to name a kid.  Every name has some sort of face attached to it – and usually it’s one where I dread my kid being named after him/her.  I don’t think Joel will actually take naming a kid seriously until/if we find out the sex.  Whenever I ask him what names he likes, he starts naming characters from either ridiculous television shows or video games.  Now I’m just thinking that he’s screwing with me on the whole thing.

So earlier in those posts when I was moaning about being tired?  Yeah…I’m pretty sure that was also baby related. YES, it had something to do with the 14+ hr work days but when I feel like I needed 10+ hrs of sleep a night, working that much was draining in so many ways.  It’s been amazing that I survived this fall/volleyball season so far without a glass of wine.  Last year, it was a constant in my life: Come home late. Joel hands off a glass of wine.  He commands me to sit.  And I gear up for the next day.

It’s exciting to think that next year, all of us, dogs included, will be adapting to this new little force which has yet to be reckoned with.  I’m going to start placing bets as to who freaks out the  most about all the changes.  So far, my money is on the dog.

8 thoughts on “Plus one equals 5

  1. I had to comment b/c I’m guessing I’m one of the first to read this. So excited for you. My daughter was an April baby and I’m convinced that’s the best way to do it. You do not want to be 8 months pregnant in the summer!

  2. I don’t know if I’ve ever known anyone so perfectly ready to be a Mom as you. Seriously. I’m already jealous of your child because he/she is going to grow up with the Mom that I always dreamed of having. I can’t wait to follow along with you on this journey.

    And I have always sided on finding out EARLY b/c the birth is it’s own special day…knowing the gender ahead of time won’t make it any less special. But knowing in advance? Gives you time to wrap your head around it. For me, I needed that time with Nyoka b/c I was SO SCARED of having a daughter! HA!

    But whatever you decided…you’ll be awesome. Can’t wait.

    • Wow. Coming from you, that is one of the nicest things ever said to me. I just…wow. Thank you for that. You are such an encourager!

      You and Joel have similar ideas on finding out the sex early. I’m still on the fence but it is SO TEMPTING to find out now.

Leave a Reply

