DST

Sunday I cursed the existence of Daylight Savings Time.  I was so excited to sleep for an extra hour that I ruined everything by waking up feeling oddly rested at 6:30 am.  It figures that the one Sunday we don’t work in the nursery, we both wake up naturally before 7.  Of course, this lead to a nice, hard power nap and a crash on the bed by 8:30 pm.

But today – OH TODAY – was glorious as my alarm rang and the sun was already shining through the windows.  For the past few months I have struggled to get out of bed, get ready, pack a lunch, and get out the door before 7.  In fact, for the past few weeks, I’ve been slipping and leaving later and later.  But when the sun was up?  I was up.  I don’t really understand how I got ready faster but I definitely felt more refreshed and rested – which is exactly what you need when you are about to go deal with teenagers for the rest of the day.

So while many parents griped and complained about their children not adjusting, and even though I felt like one of those kids since I didn’t adjust well either – I am LOVING DST.

Funny joke – when I got home, I thought I would go work out, since I haven’t done that in…oh I don’t know…months or so.  I get dressed and by the time I head out the door, I notice that it’s dark outside.  Getting dressed and ready for the gym was all a joke!  I  actually thought I was going to go work out.  HAHA, joke on me!  Oh, Monday – you are so funny in your cruel ways.

Leave a Reply

