Banking blood

**insert lame Twilight vampire joke here**

Joel and I have been researching about cord blood because when I got pregnant, those fliers were some of the propaganda I received in the mail.  The documents (as well as people who have done this) claim that “it’ll save them from cancer!  It will cure juvenile diabetes!  It will cure your child of a genetic disorder!”

But there’s no real proof that I can find of these claims.

Since my husband works in the cancer industry, we’ve asked his doctors, as well as my own, about their professional opinions regarding this subject.  All of them responded with a definite – it’s not worth it.  So many accomplishments are being claimed, but yet, none of those medical breakthroughs are actually happening in America. 

I came across this article today when I was doing some last minute research on it.

http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/11/18/umbilical.cord.public.banks/index.html

What those doctors said makes sense.  Why would you inject a sick child’s cord blood back into the body and ever think it would cure him?

I have a friend who decided to go through with the banking, and then the cord blood became “contaminated” and all was lost. 

I talked to another friend about it who confessed she wished she could have afforded it for the Just In Case situations that may arise.  But what do you do with the blood?  How long do you keep it?  Until the child is 18, married, or has her own kids?  Because with my luck, I’d throw it out when the child was 18 and then at 19 something disastrous would happen.  I fear that the cord blood bank system preys on the insecurities of new parents dealing with the whole “what if” situation.  The funeral home business is the exact same way – “Are you sure you don’t want to upgrade to the $10,000 coffin for your beloved parent who just passed away?”  **I’ve seen this happen so I feel I can comment on that one specifically.** 

I guess this is just how businesses work though.  Without the “what ifs” then there would be no business at all.  Did any of you decide to bank your child’s cord blood?  I’m not looking for controversy, but merely other [researched] ideas about the issue.

One thought on “Banking blood

  1. Goodness, who knows? May as well get the works stored away: stem cells, bone marrow, clone the child right away so there’s a backup available…

    It pains me to comment on this because I have no idea if this is snake oil or if it will really come in handy one stay. It saddens me, the thought of you passing on corded blood only to find yourself in a future situation where you regret not having the blood available…but it saddens me even more to waste funds that could have been spent starting up a college fund for your child. And what if your hypothetical 19-year-old child rejects being treated with his own corded blood?

    I recently saw a film called A Christmas Tale (not to be confused with A Christmas Story) in which, against all odds, the matriarch of a family finds not one but two bone marrow donors in her family — but refuses to accept either’s bone marrow due to the risks involved. What if all the information you’re receiving about the benefits of preserving corded blood turns out to be similarly risky to use? Why aren’t these answers in the Bible, for cryin’ out loud?

Leave a Reply

