Everyday’s a Weekend

So today is Joel’s last day of work.  Officially.  He put in his 4 weeks notice a month ago and now we prep to move.

Oh yeah.  We’re moving.  Kinda forgot to mention that here.

I feel like I’ve been absent a lot from blogging because so much has been happening that I wasn’t sure if I should be posting on the internet for all the world to see.  But (obviously), Joel quitting his job isn’t a secret anymore.  Mid-January we will be moving to Terre Haute, Indiana.  It’s a small city about 45 min west of Indianapolis.  It has a good bit of charm, but overall the city seems average at best.  It’s not Huntsville, that’s for sure.  BUT, the countryside is absolutely stunning.  Who knew that Southern Indiana has gorgeous hills and luscious greenery.  It reminds me a lot of Kentucky, for those of you who might be more familiar with that area.

It’s a couple hours farther away from our families which wasn’t really ideal (but right now they are all driving me crazy so it’s seeming like a GREAT idea at the moment).  We’ll be about 4 hours from Chicago and 3 from St. Louis (where one of Joel’s best friends live and where my best friend’s in-laws live).  I don’t think this is a permanent move for us; our dream area to settle in is the Franklin/Nashville, TN area.  If we are going to be moving around, I want to do it while Lila is so young and not in school yet.  Although we don’t really plan to move a lot.  Joel moved a LOT growing up.  I think by the time he graduated high school at 17, he moved over 20 times.  Whereas my parents still live in the same house since I was 1.  We’d like to end up more like my family and settling early because we both see a lot of benefits of having a community and making life-long friends.

So with Joel not working, he’s going to be here.  All day.  Every day.  While this is awesome in the fact that we can go out to dinner or to a movie whenever our babysitter can watch the baby and I can finally go to the gym/have alone time, I have a feeling that he’s going to go stir crazy within days.  Either that or he’s going to drive me crazy.  We’ll see.  Right now we are just excited that he has 7 weeks until his new job.  At least someone will be home to help me clean and get ready for showings for the house (if we could ever get one, anyway).  This weekend I told him that everyday is going to be like Saturday to him – we can cook breakfast, hang out, play with the baby, do necessary chores, etc.  We don’t have many places we have to be and we can do it all in our time schedule.  I’m going to try and start forgetting what day it is, much like I do in the summer.

Leave a Reply

